Railways identifies 9 routes for semi high speed trains


In an effort to make travel times shorter by rail, Indian Railways has identified nine routes where semi fast trains will run. Nine corridors i.e. Delhi-Agra, Delhi-Chandigarh, Delhi-Kanpur, Nagpur-Bilaspur, Mysore-Bengaluru-Chennai, Mumbai-Goa, Mumbai-Ahmedabad, Chennai-Hyderabad & Nagpur-Secunderabad have been identified for raising the speeds of passenger trains to 160/200 kmph.

The first passenger train at 160 kmph will be run from New Delhi to Agra, reports Business Standard.

The limit of speed of trains is regulated in accordance with the classification of routes having particular type of track structure. The broad gauge (BG) lines on Indian Railways have been classified into six groups ‘A’ to ‘E’ on the basis of the future maximum permissible speed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here