Home page

Ministry gives Rs 700 cr to Swadesh and Prasad for 2016


The Ministry of Tourism has launched two new schemes in the last financial year- Swadesh Darshan for the integrated development of tourist circuits around specific themes Prasad as a national Mission on pilgrimage rejuvenation and spiritual augmentation drive(PRASAD) to beautify and improve the amenities and infrastructure at pilgrimage centres of all faiths said the minister of state for tourism (independent charge) Mahesh Sharma in the Rajya Sabha today.

Under Swadesh Darshan, five circuits have been identified for development including the North East circuit, Buddhist circuit, Himalayan circuit, Coastal circui and the Krishna circuit

Under PRASAD, twelve cities have been identified initially. These include Ajmer, Amritsar, Amravati, Dwarka, Gaya, Kedarnath, Kamakhaya, Kanchipuram, Mathura, Puri, Varanasi and Velankanni.

A budget provision of Rs 600 crore and Rs.100 crore is available for Swadesh Darshan & PRASAD respectively for the year 2015-16.

The details of projects sanctioned under these new schemes are as under

Projects sanctioned under Swadesh Darshan
Sl. No. Name of the Circuit Name of the Project Amt. Sanction Amount Rs cr
1. North-East Circuit Bhalukpong – Bomdila-Tawang in Arunachal Pradesh 50.00 10.00
2. Buddhist Circuit Cultural Centre, Bodhgaya 33.17 6.63
3. Coastal Circuit Kakinada –Hope Island- Konaseema as World Coastal & Eco Tourism Circuit (Phase–I ) in Andhra Pradesh  69.83 3.37


Projects sanctioned under PRASAD
Sl. No. Name of the City Name of the Project Sanctioned Rs cr Released  Rs cr
1. Gaya Development of Basic Facilities at Vishnupad Temple, Gaya, Bihar. 4.29 0.86
2. Puri Infrastructure Development at Puri. 50.00 10.00
3. Mathura Development of Mathura – Vrindavan. 14.93 2.99
4. Mathura Mathura Tourist Facilitation Center 9.35 1.75

Musafir Namah Bureau




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here