Home page

Govt proposes to build 17 new airports

The government proposes to construct 17 new airports in the country in the 12th Five-Year Plan (2012-17) period.

Minister of State for Civil Aviation K.C. Venugopal informed the Rajya Sabha that 17 airports had been proposed in the 12th Plan period between April 1, 2012 and March 31, 2017.

The airports would be located at Mopa, Goa, Gulbarga, Bijapur, Hassan, Shimoga, Karnataka, Aranmula (Pathanamthitta) and Kannur in Kerala, Sindhudurg, Navi Mumbai and Shirdi in Maharashtra, Darba in Madhya Pradesh, Karaikal in Pudducherry, Kushinagar in Uttar Pradesh, Andal-Faridpur in West Bengal, Itanagar in Arunachal Pradesh, Kishangarh (Ajmer) in Rajasthan and Deoghar in Jharkhand.

Full report here New Indian Express


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here