Buddhist Circuit train begins operations


Indian Railways is operating Buddhist Tourism Circuit Special Train through its PSU Indian Railways Tourism & Catering Corporation (IRCTC). This train will have six trips in the season 2015-16 with first trip of this season starting from 31st October, 2015 from Delhi Safdarjung Station.

During its 7 nights / 8 days journey from Delhi, it covers important sites such as Bodh Gaya, Rajgir, Nalanda, Sarnath, Kushinagar, Lumbini, Shravasti and at the end The Taj Mahal (Agra).

The Detailed Day-Wise Tour Itinerary is as under : –
§ Day I – Departure from Delhi (Delhi Safdarjung Station in the afternoon) for Gaya.
§ Day II – Arrival at Gaya in the morning. Visit Bodhgaya. Overnight stay at the hotel.
§ Day III – Visit of Rajgir & Nalanda. Departure for Varanasi in the evening.
§ Day IV – Arrival at Varanasi in the morning. Visit of Sarnath. Visit the Ganges for the evening Aarti. Departure for Gorakhpur in the
§ Day V/VI – Arrival at Gorakhpur in the morning. Visit of Kushinagar/Lumbini. Overnight stay at hotel. Breakfast at hotel, Sightseeing.
Lunch at hotel. Return to Gorakhpur. Departure for Gonda.
§ Day VII – Arrival at Gonda in the morning. Visit of Sravasti. Departure from Gonda for Agra in the evening.
§ Day VIII – Arrival at Agra in the morning. Visit of Taj Mahal. Departure for Delhi in the afternoon.
– Arrival at Delhi (Delhi Safdarjung Railway Station) in the evening.

The Buddhist Circuit Special Train, was launched by Railway PSU Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Ltd.(IRCTC, a Mini Ratna Public Sector Undertaking under the Ministry of Railways, Government of India in the year 2007, with the objective of offering a safe, comfortable & reliable tour package for international as well as domestic travelers on the Buddhist Circuit.

This is a fully AC train with a capacity of 274 seats comprising of 72 berths in first AC, 138 berths in second AC and 64 berths in third AC. The all-inclusive tour package includes train journeys, hotel accommodation, road transport, tour guide services, tour manager services, all meals, travel insurance, security and monument admission fees etc. during the tour. This train has been awarded the coveted National Tourism Award of Excellence by the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India in Feb 2009.

In the year 2011-12 this train is upgraded with a number of additional facilities and amenities for providing better services to the passengers. In the last eight seasons, pilgrims, tourists, media, travel agents and tour operators from more than 35 countries have experienced the unmatched services provided on this train tour. This train has become very popular among the pilgrims and tourist across the world.

The future scheduled departures dates of this train for the season 2015 – 16 are as below:
December, 2015 – 26th
January, 2016 – 9th
February, 2016 – 13th
March, 2016 – 12th

For more details of the train tour please click on to the web link www.irctctourism.com/buddha

Musafir Namah Bureau


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here