Indian Market & Trends

7 more airports to become entry points for e-visa facility


Foreign tourists visiting India will now be able to land at seven more Indian airports using the e-tourist visa facility including Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s constituency Varanasi and Ahmedabad in his home state reports the Press Trust of India (PTI).

Jaipur, Amritsar, Gaya, Lucknow and Trichy are the other cities to be declared as entry points with the government expecting a rush of Chinese tourists to India when the e-tourist visa facility will be finally rolled out to the citizens of the neighbouring country. At present, one can land with an e-tourist visa at nine airports including Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Goa, Kochi, Kolkata, Mumbai, Hyderabad and Thiruvananthapuram.

“We are also planning to set up additional counters in the existing nine airports as we are expecting rush of Chinese tourists,” a Home Ministry official told the news wire.

As promised by the Prime Minister, India is all set to roll out e-tourist visa facility to Chinese nationals along with citizens of 31 more countries soon. “Preparations are going on smoothly. We want to announce some more countries along with China whose citizens will be offered e-tourist visa,” the official said.

Among the countries that will benefit from the extension are the UK, Spain, the Netherlands, Portugal, Malaysia, Tanzania and Argentina.

Musafir Namah Bureau, PTI



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here