Home page

31 new countries to get e-visa from May 1, China not yet


The government will add 31 more countries to the list of countries eligible for prior electronic tourist visa approvals. However, the matter of extending the facility to Chinese tourists is still under discussion and the Government has not planned to extend the e-Tourist Visa programme to Chinese tourists at present, said minister of state for home affairs, Kiren Rijiju.

The e-Tourist Visa scheme was launched on November 27, 2014 to 45 countries from nine designated Indian Airports.

The new countries included in e-Tourist Visa scheme are Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Canada, Cayman Island, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominic an Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, France, Georgia, Grenada, Haiti, HolySee (Vatican), Honduras, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Paraguay, St.Kitts & Nevis and Seychelles.

With the above addition, the total number of countries under the scheme will go upto 76. The scheme will be extended to more countries in a phased manner. The Government is committed to extend the scheme to 150 countries by the end of this financial year said the Ministry of Tourism.

Musafir Namah Bureau



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here